Editor #2

“As far back as I can remember I’ve always wanted to be in movies….”

Cue Tony Bennett’s “Rags to Riches”

Maybe its when I saw Ghostbusters II at the age of 3, maybe it was that show and tell in 1st grade where I brought a scrapbook I had made of set photos from Batman Returns. Maybe it was hosting a 15 minute show in middleschool where I gave kids who could care less an update on casting news and upcoming projects. Maybe it was buying a ticket for Nine Months and sneaking into Die Hard with a Vengeance at the age of 9. Somewhere along my childhood path I became obsessed with movies.

I am now 25 (approaching 26 quickly) and today live and breathe movies like never before. I work at a movie theater that Ive been with for 9 years, Ive freelanced movie reviews to various publications since freshman year of high school and I stand proud over a collection of dvds that is somewhere around 1,500. Oh I have other interests too; books, music, comics, politics, women but nothing starts me babbling like movies. All movies. I try my best to keep an open mind with any movie or film that crosses my path and the variety of what I like continues to grow.

I love Scorsese, Spielberg, Kurosawa, Godard, Truffaut, Fellini, Wilder, Lang, Bergman, Powell and Pressburger, Hitchcock, etc. I love genre: Westerns, Gangster movies, War films, Action blockbusters, all kinds of comedy, musicals, and I’m even a sucker for sugary rom-coms. I idol everyone from Tarantino and Peckinpah to James L. Brooks and Nancy Meyers. Why? Its quite simple actually. There are moments when you watch a movie or a film when something just hits. It can be the combination of any number of elements: acting, directing, cinematography, lighting, music cues, Mise en scene, personal memories, the atmosphere around the viewer, the influence of drugs and alchohol. But something just clicks and causes for a brief moment a feeling of elation. For a second the hairs on your neck stands. Something makes you want to pump your fist in the air and say “Hell yeah”. If that happens just once in a movie your watching, you have truly had an experience. It may be the best movie you’ve seen, the worst, the most “meh” or just totally awful its hilarious but you have had an experience. Everyone sees everything in there own light. Some benefit from repeat viewings, some benefit from revisiting a movie in their head hours later after seeing it. One man’s best picture is another man’s worst. One person’s Drive is another person’s Just Go With It. One person’s Transformers is another person’s Inception. We don’t have to agree on an opinion but we have every right to present one. Everything finds an audience. People cherish Criterion releases. People own Ultraviolet on blu-ray.

My goal with this blog is to take a chance and express my own opinions on movies and film. To prose theories on film and the state of Hollywood for others to consider. To bring up those movies that are overlooked and under appreciated. To share the memories and experiences of seeing said movies. And to vent when something you looked forward to for years becomes an unbearable disappointment.

I hope its something of some fun and interest to read, educational and most of all completely honest. I look forward to seeing varying opinions on the same movie and to be introduced to those movies or directors which I have yet to discover.

And the video is a sample of John Williams’ brilliant Adventures of Tintin score which has been stuck in my head all week. Enjoy!

-John

Leave a Reply

